PAIGNTON 

So last month (I know this blog post is a little late but I’ve been very busy!). We visited Paignton for their annual firework display to celebrate the opening of Splashdown Waterpark. Each year the firework display just seems to get better and better, and is always a reminder that summer is just around the corner! The fireworks didn’t start until 9:15, we arrived at 4 which meant we had some time to spare. What better way to spare some time than eating right?! My family and I went and had a meal in a restaurant a couple of metres away from the Waterpark. I had a huge chicken curry which was delicious! I always seem to get hot when I have a meal at a restaurant, and so I went outside to cool down. The best thing about this restaurant is that it overlooks the beautiful ocean ahead of us. On this particular day, the water looked incredible. 



After we were all ‘fat and full’ we went into the amusements to see what ‘rubbish’ we could win. I spent £3 and won a turtle ring, which to this day I still haven’t looked at, oops! We walked along the beach when the sun had just set, despite it getting a bit colder, I still loved every minute of it.



We walked around the area and I went to explore with my sister, we saw the sun behind us just beginning to set once and for all, to end off a beautiful day. After we had had enough sight seeing, and had (almost) got lost, we made it back to our family and sat on a wall, listening to the live band that was playing above us, on the rooftop. Now, if there’s one thing you should know about me it’s that I’m very immature, which I’m also quite proud of as I feel you can have more fun that way. My sister knew the lead singer in this band, and wanted a photo with him, but what ended up happening was the complete opposite. 20 minutes later and I’m on top of the Waterpark, staring out at the deep blue ocean, listening to this man singing ‘shut up and dance with me’ whilst I’m centre stage, dancing in the middle of little 5 year old kids, It was crazy. (P.s the main singer is called Rich Cotell, you can check out his Links here)

YouTube- ‘RichCottellMusic’

Instagram- ‘Richcottell

Website- http://www.richcottell.com/

(You can also book him for gigs!


After an hour of singing, dancing and awkwardly dabbing, it was beginning to get dark and the fireworks were slowly approaching. When they had began, I was amazed by how bright, big and all round wonderful they looked in the dark, moon lit sky. It was incredible to think that I was standing next to a beach, watching the fireworks above me, they were mesmerising. 


I particularly love this photo, as you can see the colours of the fireworks lighting up the tree next to it, making it look quite eerie. What an atmosphere!





The finale was amazing, fireworks being shot off left right and centre- with ‘oohs’ and ‘ahhhs’ from the crowd every second. They even sent some off over the amusements which was an amazing sight to see! As if the evening couldn’t get any better, the Waterpark were playing music which could even be heard over the fireworks, it was a great experience. 




After this phenomenal display, the crowd cheered and clapped their hands as Splashdown Waterpark had outdone themselves for yet another year running. 

Within 5 minutes like lost ducklings, everyone started to make their way out of the park (luckily we weren’t parked too far away). We had a long, creepily and dark 45 minute drive home, to which when we got in, we all collapsed in our beds to get a good nights sleep- I’m unsure where I will be venturing too next, but I’m already looking forward to it. 

-13/04/17. X

15 thoughts on “PAIGNTON 

  1. Oh man i didnt really stop by here just scenic drive through to devon way as i was short on time. Place looks picturesque

    Like

  2. Paignton seemed to be a good place to unwind and relax. I love the photos you captured on the fireworks. It’s beautiful as I am always fascinated with fireworks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

